With Appointedd, you can choose how and when you want customers to make bookings with you and how and when you want your customers to cancel their bookings with you.

Your booking policies allow you to control how much notice you require for a booking, how much notice you require for a cancellation and how far in advance someone can book with you. Find out more about booking policies here.

How can a customer cancel a booking?

A customer can cancel a booking in two places:

1. The booking confirmation email. Whether the customer makes the booking online or you make the booking internally, the customer can cancel their upcoming booking from the booking confirmation email.

2. Their customer account. If the customer made the booking online and you require your customers to log in to make a booking, a customer account is created for them. They can then log in to this account to view and cancel bookings.

To cancel a booking, the timing must satisfy the cancelation notice period requirements set out in your booking policies.

How to ensure customers can cancel their bookings

By default, your settings allow customers to cancel their bookings. If you do want customers to be able to cancel their bookings online, you should ensure that one (or both) of the following settings allow it:

1. Cancel bookings from the confirmation email

  • Hover over the booking tools tab and click online booking settings 
  • Find Allow customers to cancel bookings from confirmation emails 
  • Flip the slider to ON 

2. Require customers to log in to make a booking

  • Hover over the booking tools tab and click online booking settings 
  • Find Allow customers to book online without an Appointedd account 
  • Flip the slider to OFF. 

How to ensure customers cannot cancel their bookings

If you do not want customers to cancel their bookings online, you should ensure that both of the following settings disallow it:

1. Cancel bookings from the confirmation email

  • Hover over the booking tools tab and click online booking settings 
  • Find Allow customers to cancel bookings from confirmation emails 
  • Flip the slider to OFF 

2. Require customers to log in to make a booking

  • Hover over the booking tools tab and click online booking settings 
  • Find Allow customers to book online without an Appointedd account 
  • Flip the slider to ON. 

Top tip: encourage customers to make another booking by editing the text of the cancelation email to include links to your booking tools. To edit the email which is sent when a booking is canceled:

  • Hover over the communications tab and click emails 
  • Find Send customers an email when a booking is cancelled 
  • Ensure this is turned ON 
  • Click edit text 

By default, we include a link to your microsite. You can edit the link to direct to your chosen web page by clicking the chain-link icon or edit the text as you wish.

How to issue a refund for a canceled booking

When a booking is canceled by your business or by the customer, we leave the control with you to issue any refund. You can make a full or partial refund for any payment in your Stripe dashboard.

Did this answer your question?